DOMOTEX 2018, 12 - 15 January
Homepage>Events>Carpet Design Awards>Carpet Design Awards
In Partnership with Hali + Cover

Hand-made works of art in eight categories

The Carpet Design Awards are gearing up for another great celebration of flooring excellence. Designers and makers of modern hand-made carpets have until 1 November to submit their entries for the highly coveted award.

Hall 9: The International Competition for Outstanding Carpet Design

DOMOTEX: Winner Carpet Design Awards
Winners 2017

The Carpet Design Awards are an international badge of distinction, given in recognition of quality and design excellence in hand-made carpets and rugs. Presented annually at DOMOTEX, they will be in their 13th year in 2018. Next year’s awards will be conferred in eight categories, with the winners receiving their prizes at a special ceremony held at DOMOTEX on Saturday, 13 January, at the Carpet Design Awards display in Hall 9.

The Carpet Design Awards help to give expression to cutting-edge innovations and emerging trends in the carpet industry. Since the inception of the awards, the categories have therefore been refined and updated to reflect industry trends. Thus, the 2018 awards have two new categories: Best Interior (high-end customization project or rug installation demonstrated with high quality images) and Best Communication (successful marketing or branding campaign demonstrated with high-quality images).

Categories 2018

Categories that emphasise the CDA's focus on original design, quality and innovation

Who will win?
Category 01: Best Studio Artist Design
Original small scale production design from an artist or designer
Note: Open to non-exhibitors!
Category 02: Best Modern Design Superior
Original contemporary designs showing optimum use of materials
Category 03: Best Modern Design Deluxe
Original contemporary designs showing optimum use of materials
Category 04: Best Transitional Design
A new rug that interprets traditional designs for a contemporary audience
Category 05: Best Flatweave Design
Original rug design demonstrating the flatweave technique
Category 06: Best Collection
Contemporary Traditional or Transitional design collections demonstrating a common theme
Category 07: Best Interior
A high-end customisation project or rug installation demonstrated with high quality images
Category 08: Best Communication
A successful marketing or branding campaign demonstrated with high quality images


Michael Mandapati
Michael Mandapati, chair Person, New York / USA

An international jury headed by Michael Mandapati, carpet expert and president of Warp & Weft, New York, will assess all of the entries and shortlist for each of the eight categories three carpets that are characterized by exceptional design, quality and craftsmanship.

The carpets submitted will be judged in terms of design and design concept, material, execution, structure and quality, and sustainability and branding. The 24 shortlisted carpets will be displayed in Hall 9 during DOMOTEX. In January 2018, the jury will then select one winner in each category.

Information for Exhibitors

Why should you enter the CDA?

Award Ceremony Press
Award ceremony 2017: Media presence

  • The shortlisted entries are shown in the prominent specially designed CDA display area which is the central feature of Hall 9
  • Extra attention is given to shortlisted companies and winners in various marketing and press materials
  • Exclusive entry to DOMOTEX Hannover exhibitors. Non-exhibitors can only enter the Best Studio Artist Design category
  • Entry is free of charge!
  • The winners of the CDA have included all of the leading rug companies in the world
  • The online entry process gives exhibitors complete control over the way in which they present and describe their designs and allows for the use of additional supporting material
  • Worldwide press coverage for your business
  • Final deadline for entries: November 1st, 2017

Download the new broschure with all relevant information for exhibitors now!


Submit your entries online

Participating in the Carpet Design Awards is easy. Online you will find all the information you need to enter, including entry forms to fill in online and attach high resolution images to. Just go to The CDA is integrated in the Online Business Services of Deutsche Messe and you will use the log in data send to you with your stand confirmation. The CDA entry form is located in the Exhibitor Content Management System (ECMS) under "Highlighting your company".

Participants in Category One will get separate log on details upon request. Please call us on +44 20 3727 4945.


Contact Us